Oration Awardees

Endocrine Society of India Orations 2017

Every year the Endocrine Society of India awards three named orations which are delivered by the awardees at the annual conference of the Endocrine Society. The awardees of the orations are selected from nominations received the Orations Committee as mandated by the constitution headed by the President of the Endocrine Society of India and composed of two immediate past presidents, the vice president and the hony.secretary. The awardees for the year 2017 are as below:

Name of Oration MMS Ahuja Oration
Awardee Mala Dharmalingam
MalaD Dr Mala Dharmalingam obtained her DM in AIIMS. She is currently professor and head of the department of endocrinology at MS Ramiah Medical College Bengaluru. She is the several awards and orations including the PN Shah oration of the Endocrine Society of India. She has over 100 publications and is an invited speaker in national and international fora
Name of Oration Subhash Mukherjee Oration
Awardee Tushar R Bandgar
TRBandgar Dr Tushar R Bandgar is currently professor, endocrinology in KEM hospital, Mumbai. He received his Endocrinology training from the Seth GS Medical College and KEM Hospital, Mumbai (2005); he completed an APPES fellows course in pediatric endocrinology in 2004. He has 118 national and international endocrine publications to his credit.He has been a participant in various international clinical trials (Principal Investigator in 21 trials and Co-investigator in 42 trials) and has three successful US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) inspections (2011,2012, 2014)as well as European Medicines Agency (EMA) (2008). His current interests include Neuroendocrine disorders and Endocrine Oncology.
Name of Oration PN Shah Oration
Awardee Thomas Paul
ThomasPaul Dr. Thomas V Paul, MD, DNB(Endo), PhD(Endo), is Professor in Department of Endocrinology at the Christian Medical College, Vellore, India.
His area of interest is conducting epidemiological studies in osteoporosis. He has more than 80 indexed publications in several areas of endocrinology. He is a reviewer for endocrinology and internal medicine related national and international journals.
He has been a principle investigator and co-investigator in multi-centre osteoporosis trials. He has periodically organized community awareness programmes for the prevention of osteoporosis related fractures in postmenopausal women and elderly men in rural as well as urban Vellore district of south India. He is a guide for PhD under the MGR medical university, inspector for the national board and examiner for the higher specialty examinations in endocrinology. He was the organizing secretary for Indian Society of Bone Mineral and Research conference in Vellore in 2015 and is a member of the Endocrine Society of India.


 Awardees from previous years

Year MMS Ahuja Oration PN Shah Oration Subhash Mukherjee Oration
2017 Prof.Mala Dharmalingam, Bengaluru Prof. Thomas Paul, Vellore Prof.Tushar Bandgar, Mumbai
2016 Dr.Pankaj Shah, USA Dr.Jayanthy Ramesh, Hyderabad Prof.Sanjay Badada
2014 Prof. SatinathMukhopadhyay, Kolkata Prof. RavinderGoswami Col. MK Garg
2013 Prof. Nalini Shah, Mumbai Prof. Simon Rajaratnam, Vellore Dr. KD Modi, Hyderabad
2012 Prof. Nihal Thomas, Vellore Prof. Mala Dharmalingam, Bengaluru Dr. Anand Kumar, New Delhi
2011 Prof. Eesh Bhatia Gen. Dr. RK Marwah, New Delhi Dr. AG Unnikrishnan
2010 Prof. SK Singh, Varanasi Dr. Sanjay Bhadada Dr. PP Verma
2009 Prof. Krishna Seshadri, Chennai